you're reading...
Uncategorized

The Power of Social Media, good friends, and Trinis who love their country

Just thought I would write about how humbled and amazed I am about the overwhelming response to the “Timelapsing Through Trinidad” video Anthony and I made.

The idea to do our little video came about out of a desire show Trinidad through a different medium: Timelapse Photography, as well as to enter the Chronos Film Festival, which is about Timelapse, Slow Motion, and Stop Motion films.

We only had a few days to shoot, since I was going to be in Trinidad for just 11 days and at least one of those days I wanted to do a small mini-doc about the Paramin community, which is still a work in progress. We had lofty goals of doing a location a day, but weather, scheduling, and pure exhaustion got the best of us. So we did what we could and T.T.T. 1.0 was the result.

When I officially released it to the public on Sunday August 28, 2011 around 8PM, I did the usual thing, which is to share it on my Twitter and Facebook accounts. Almost immediately some of my Twitter followers responded, liked it and retweeted across the Twitterverse. Among those who reposted it were, Philip Bloom, a man I am honored to call a friend and a person I highly respect in the filming community, Eric Kessler of Kessler Crane, whose products and gear I talk about constantly… cause they are that good, and last but not least my sister, Maria who shared it with all her friends. That started the ball rolling, and by the end of the night we had 356 plays and 33 likes on Vimeo. It was my highest “like” total ever and fastest play count yet. It was an amazing feeling. Little did I know that it would grow even more!

As more people started sharing it on Facebook (over 4,000 as of this morning), the plays and likes increased even more and in about two full days we had reached 10,000 plays! I was simply blown away by the response, as well as a lot of the comments about making people homesick; and showing the beauty of Trinidad, even though it is currently under a state of emergency. What blew me away most of all were many people who said they signed up for a Vimeo account so that they could like or comment on the video. I was truly touched by their desire to do that.

From the overwhelming response it is without a doubt that I know Trinis both at home and abroad, love our little twin island nation. Hopefully we will find a good and effective way of making it a Paradise free from anything to fear, and kick any criminal elements out (or atleast put them in jail)!

Thanks again to everyone who enjoyed, commented, criticized, shared and reposted our video.
We will strive to do even better in the next one. T.T.T. 2.0 🙂

About fuji27

Born & Raised in Trinidad | Living in Miami, FL | Working at Florida International University | Photographer, Aspiring Videographer, Computer Geek, Car Enthusiast (Gas Brain), Volleyball fanatic... Not necessarily in that order ;)

Discussion

6 thoughts on “The Power of Social Media, good friends, and Trinis who love their country

  1. You should not be surprised, Kevin. Your involvement and support of the filmmaking community is almost unmatched.

    Posted by Preston Kanak | September 1, 2011, 2:50 pm
    • Thanks so much for the kind words Preston 🙂
      I have to say in my short time in the community, it is an amazing and very nurturing environment to be in.
      A very co-operative and collaborative group indeed!

      Posted by fuji27 | September 1, 2011, 3:11 pm
  2. I kept playing T.T.T 1.0 and kept thinking – “God is an Awesome God! I love T&T! Thank you for sending me here! I am most humbled to be born and raised here!”

    This is an EPIC WIN. I’m crazy in love with this. Shared it on my Wall (along with the thousands who have done so already). I also shared this blog post. Cannot wait for T.T.T 2.0! Don’t make us wait long…

    Posted by Vishala | September 9, 2011, 2:35 am
  3. A friend sent me the link to your time lapse video…I am Trini, born, bred and still live here, and your video brought me to tears to know that I am living in such a beautiful place, despite all the trials and trying times we face in our homeland. I am stunned by the quality and breath taking work you did. Much respect.

    Shazard.

    Posted by Shazard | September 12, 2011, 9:23 pm
    • Thanks Shazard,
      So glad you enjoyed it. We are grateful to everyone who took the time to watch our little video about the beauty of our homeland. We can’t wait to do a follow up to this one. 🙂
      We do have a true paradise, we just have to keep convincing people of that, one person at a time 🙂
      Thanks again for your awesome comments. Have a great one.
      Kevin

      Posted by fuji27 | September 13, 2011, 12:42 am

Leave a Reply

Flickr Photos

Twitter Feed

