you're reading...
New, New, Projects

Timelapsing Through Trinidad

The final edit of my Trinidad timelapse adventure has been loaded up on Vimeo and will be made public when I finish this blog post. This was the first time I attempted doing a project of this size and I think there were a lot of lessons learned to apply to my future projects, both timelapse and otherwise.

Chillin' at the top of Mt. Hololo

Chillin' at the top of Mt. Hololo

I definitely had a lot of fun liming with Anthony and some other friends and family who joined me for various parts of the journey. When I think back at all the places we visited I am amazed that we covered so many, but there is so much more to discover. There are definitely some really amazing places on the island. My second time around I definitely will have to spend much longer, not just to timelapse, but to scout locations, which we really didn’t get a good chance to do.

Kessler Crane Shuttle Pod in action on Mt. St. Benedict

Kessler Crane Shuttle Pod in action on Mt. St. Benedict

It was awesome using KesslerCrane gear in Trinidad. I don’t know with absolute certainty, but I think we might have been the first to use KC gear on the island. The KC gear was rock solid as always, loved the flexibility of the Shuttle Pod system and the K-Pod can really take a beating! The only issue we had was with the Revolution Head, during daytime timelapses we didn’t seem to have any issues, but for evening/night timelapses we could never seem to calibrate it well enough to capture a smooth TL. We looked at all the tutorials, but still no luck. However, we didn’t get a chance to utilize the shoot move shot capability of the Kessler Oracle and Camera Control Module, so that may solve the issue. I’m gonna check with the Kessler Crane crew this week about the issue, their Customer Service is top notch!

Sunset @ Hindu Temple in Waterloo

Sunset @ Hindu Temple in Waterloo

I would have loved to do even more in my short stay, but the weather hindered our progress on a few locations and I also had to take my Day 4 “off” after just getting literally burnt out from two 12-hour days almost all of which were in the Sun (boy I’m getting old) πŸ™‚

Waiting for the rain to stop

Waiting for the rain to stop

All in all we shot at 7+ locations in Trinidad, these are the ones that made it in the video:
Downtown, Port of Spain, North-West
Hindu Temple, Waterloo, West-Central
Maracas Beach, North-West Coast
Mt. Hololo, Cascade, North-West
Mt. St. Benedict, North-Central
Orange Valley, Waterloo, West-Central
Toco, North-East

LED lights to illuminate the Coconut Trees in Toco for my astro-lapse attempt

LED lights to illuminate the Coconut Trees in Toco for my astro-lapse attempt

I am amazed and excited that this is just the tip of the iceberg, there is so much more to discover and explorer. I can’t wait to have my 2nd go at TLing Trinidad, and that’s not even including making a trip to the equally beautiful sister island of Tobago.

Peaceful Toco river

Peaceful Toco river

So after about 25,000+ stills, 25+ hours of post processing, and 8 drafts, here is the video of my 1st attempt at timelapsing through Trinidad.

A very, very special thanks to Anthony, who shot half of the footage in the video and for accompanying me on my epic adventure. Also special thanks to Lorraine, whose house we over-nighted at in Toco, which allowed me to get my first decent astro-lapse. And great thanks to all my friends and family who made my brief stay back home so Awesome πŸ™‚

P.S. Personally, I think that my music choice for the video was more epic that some of our TL clips, but hey I wanted something to aspire too, and I already had purchased it from MusicLoops πŸ™‚

Thanks for reading my ramblings. Hope you enjoy the photos and video.

Kevin

About fuji27

Born & Raised in Trinidad | Living in Miami, FL | Working at Florida International University | Photographer, Aspiring Videographer, Computer Geek, Car Enthusiast (Gas Brain), Volleyball fanatic... Not necessarily in that order ;)

Discussion

17 thoughts on “Timelapsing Through Trinidad

  1. that video of yours… ITS IS EPIC! Wonderful job man.

    Posted by iBaksh (@mibaksh) | August 29, 2011, 11:11 pm
  2. Absolutely beautiful! Thank you for making this video. Perfect musical choice as well. I would love to share this video on my blog with your permission. Thanks
    Luna

    Posted by Luna | August 29, 2011, 11:30 pm
  3. Very nice Time Lapse, i have recently started trying some myself,next time u are in TnT i have some very nice spots that i can show u.

    Posted by Nicholas Dumplin Bhajan | August 30, 2011, 1:09 am
  4. how do I subscribe to you? This vid was awesome, felt a bit nostalgic πŸ™‚ oh and where is that Jesus statue in Trinidad? Thought it was Brazil for a minute there…

    Posted by lissyontheroam | August 30, 2011, 2:48 pm
    • Thanks Alyssa,
      Hahah sadly I have no idea how people subscribe to me on word press πŸ™‚ I’ll let you know if I find out πŸ™‚
      Glad you enjoyed the vid, the statue is on Mt. St. Benedict πŸ˜‰

      Posted by fuji27 | August 30, 2011, 3:39 pm
  5. Hey Kevin

    That was …….. Yeah, it was that good. Loved the shots with the rain approaching and the rain clouds moving across the land. And the trees, clouds and the stars. Excellent work!

    Posted by Garnett Morris | August 30, 2011, 10:09 pm
  6. This was awesome and made me so homesick – I was wondering where the “HUGE” Jesus was – I was trying to remember if there was one on Mt. St. Benedict πŸ™‚
    Also, the “Hindu” temple is the Temple on the Sea…u should name it as such πŸ™‚

    I loved this – thanks to @chookooloonks for sending it to me! I’m so spreading this!

    Posted by Bewildered Bug | August 31, 2011, 5:52 pm
  7. does the camera rotate automatically or do you have to do it?

    Posted by Derron Arrindell | September 15, 2011, 2:35 am
  8. Thanks for sharing the vid πŸ˜‰

    Posted by fuji27 | August 31, 2011, 7:21 pm

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Pingback: Homesick | - August 31, 2011

Leave a Reply

Flickr Photos

Twitter Feed

